E. Bayer

Edward Bayer

Dr. Ed Bayer is a full professor in the Department of Biological Chemistry at the Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel. During his scientific career, he has pioneered two separate areas of research: the avidin-biotin technology and the field of cellulosomes. He is co-discoverer of the cellulosome concept in the early 1980s. In 1999, he organized and co-chaired the first Gordon Research Conference on "Cellulases and Cellulosomes," and he chaired the same conference in 2001. In 1994, he proposed the use of "designer cellulosomes" for biomass degradation, waste management, and as a general tool in the biological sciences. During his career, he has collaborated with groups in the United States, Canada, Holland, Belgium, Germany, Great Britain, France, Spain, Italy, Finland, Denmark, Guatemala, China, Japan, Australia, and the Republic of Georgia.

J. Wall

Judy Wall

Dr. Judy Wall works on a variety of research areas in the University of Missouri Biochemistry Division including environmental microbiology, bioremediation of toxic metals, and the genetics and biochemistry of sulfate-reducing bacteria. Dr. Wall is a member of the EC-US Environmental Biotechnology Taskforce Working Group; was editor in chief of Applied and Environmental Microbiology from 1995 to 2001; has been on the editorial boards of the Journal of Bacteriology, Applied and Environmental Microbiology, Environmental Microbiology, and Annual Reviews of Microbiology; is a fellow of the American Association for the Advance of Science and American Academy of Microbiology; and was co-editor of Bioenergy published by ASM Press in 2008.

D. Benton

David Benton

David Benton is the Informatics and Information Technology (IIT) director at the Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center (GLBRC) in Madison, Wisconsin. He has more than 20 years of experience in biological data management and analysis, with particular expertise in the areas of biological databases, information integration and visualization, knowledge management and component architectures. He has held positions at GlaxoSmithKline, the National Human Genome Research Institute, IntelliGenetics, and the ARCO Plant Cell Research Institute. GLBRC's IIT group develops and delivers computational solutions to support GLBRC's research mission. IIT operates the GLBRC data center and central laboratory information management system and provides bioinformatics analysis services and consulting.

J. Ralph

John Ralph

Dr. John Ralph is a biochemistry professor in the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and a biological systems engineer at the Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center. His areas of expertise include lignin biosynthesis, structure, chemistry, and reactions, as well as delineation of the effects of perturbing lignin biosynthesis extensions. This latter research is aimed at redesigning lignins to be more readily degraded for improved lignocellulosics bioprocessing. Dr. Ralph currently serves on the editorial boards of BioEnergy Research, the Journal of Wood Chemistry and Technology, Holzforschung, and the Journal of Science of Food and Agriculture. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

G. Peter

Gary Peter

Dr. Gary Peter is a professor in the Forest Genomics and Cell Biology Department and co-director of the Forest Biology Research Cooperative at the University of Florida. His research interests involve genomics, biotechnology, and development of the plant vascular system. He is a recipient of the President's Award of Scientific Team Advancement at the Institute of Paper Science and Technology and the TAPPI Foundation Research Award from the University of California at Berkeley.

D. Delmer

Deborah Delmer

Dr. Deborah P. Delmer is professor emeritus at the University of California at Davis in plant biology. Her research interest involves the identification of genes involved in synthesis of cellulose and callose in higher plants and the mode of action of herbicide(s) that affect cellulose biosynthesis. Dr. Delmer served as the associate director for food security for the Rockefeller Foundation in New York City and president of the American Society of Plant Biologists in 2000. She is a recipient of the American Chemical Society Anselme Payen Award and is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

L. Ingram

Lonnie Ingram

Dr. Lonnie Ingram is a distinguished professor and director of the Florida Center for Renewable Chemicals and Fuels in the Department of Microbiology and Cell Science at the University of Florida. His research interests are global redirection of central metabolism by genetic engineering, industrial fermentation processes, carbohydrate metabolism, expression and secretion of glycohydrolases that degrade plant polymers, and alcohol tolerance. Dr. Ingram was named one of the Top 100 People in Bioenergy, BiofuelsDigest in 2010; a member of the Southeastern Regional SunGrant Center (University of Tennessee) in 2011; a recipient of the Wood Utilization Award (Florida Society of American Foresters) in 2011; and a medalist of the Florida Academy of Sciences in 2013.

G. Peterson

Gary Peterson

Dr. Gary Peterson is professor emeritus and a former head of the Department of Soil and Crop Sciences at Colorado State University. His research emphasis has been the application of soil science principles to the solution of field-related soil management problems. Recently these efforts have focused on developing dryland cropping systems that maximize water conservation and minimize soil erosion, and that are applicable to a wide range of climate-soil environments. System effects on water conservation, nitrogen and phosphorus fertilizer management, organic matter accumulation, and nutrient cycling have been emphasized over the most recent 20 years. Dr. Peterson became a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2010 and received the College of Agricultural Sciences Distinguished Career Award in 2011 and the Soil Science Distinguished Service Award from the Soil Science Society of America in 2012.